Hall of Fame

Boxing’s Hall of Fame is the highest accolade any boxer, boxing trainer or boxing contributor can aspire to other than a perfect career. It is a testament to your outstanding contribution to the sport of boxing, and only accredited to those who have displayed skills that are superior to his/her generation. To be inducted into the Hall of Fame, means you are in the company of boxing giants like: Muhammad Ali, Joe Frazier, Jake LaMotta, Joe Louis, Archie Moore, “Sugar” Ray Robinson, Willie Pep, Floyd Patterson, George Foreman, Marvin Hagler, Michael Spinks, Roberto Duran, Julio Cesar Chavez, Naseem Hamed and other boxing royalty.

Since 1989, the IBHOF (International Boxing Hall of Fame) has sought to award elite boxers with an induction into the prestigious list. Generally, a boxer will become eligible for this honour, around 5 years after they have retired. An international panel of judges made up of boxing historians, judged whom to elect taking a number of criteria into consideration.

It all started in 1982 when residents of Canastota, New York, came together to honour former welterweight and middleweight champion, Carmen Basilio along with his nephew, Billy Backus, world welterweight champion crowned in 1970. The residents felt compelled to reward their illustrious careers and celebrate their outstanding achievements, giving birth to the idea of the Hall of Fame, which was founded less than a decade later.

The Hall of Fame is just as important today, as it ever was. Throughout time, boxers will be whittled down in memory, to the very best. Honouring these boxers will ensure they are remembered throughout history and create a boxer’s legacy. Ultimately, fighters, boxers, don’t compete just for the sake of money. More often than not, the fighters the make it to the very top, are pushed and motivated by an ulterior motive: legendary status, even if the odds are against them.

2020 Inductees

• Bernard Hopkins
• Juan Manuel Marquez
• Sugar Shane Mosley
• Christy Martin
• Lucia Rijker
• Barbara Buttrick

• Kathy Duva
• Frank Erne
• Paddy Ryan

• Bernard Fernandez
• Thomas Hauser
2020 Inductees – Non Participants

Some of the more notable inducted non-participants include:

• Cus D’Amato – Most known for coaching Mike Tyson

• Michael Buffer – Fight Announcer

• Don King – Legendary Fight Promoter

• Howard Cosell – Journalist linked to Muhammad Ali

• Teddy Atlas – Legendary Trainer who also trained Mike Tyson

Non-participants and Observers (as they are referred to) include greats that contributed immensely in some shape or form to boxing but not necessarily fought in the ring: this includes commentators, journalists, promoters, coaches, referees and even announcers.

The Class of 2021, is due to be announced early December 2020 and this year’s event has been cancelled in favour of next year.